<< back to News

British Fashion Awards 2006






DESIGNER OF THE YEAR: Giles Deacon presented by Lady Ella Windsor & Jamie Dornan

Giles Deacon took London by storm with his first collection in 2004. Giles’ couture approach to ready-to-wear quickly earned him a reputation for a sophisticated glamorous look, and captured the respect of the fashion industry which awarded him the Best New Designer award the same year. Since then, Giles has continued to refine his collections, raising the bar to new heights with his last S/S 2007collection of chic S&M inspired looks.


NEW DESIGNER: Marios Schwab presented by Amy Astley, Editor of Teen Vogue

Born in Greece, Marios studied at Esmond in Berlin and then went on to graduate from Central Saint Martins  with an MA Womenswear in 2003. Schwab has shown two collections at London Fashion Week as part of Fashion East and his most recent show with the support of New Generation sponsored by Topshop. Both press and buyers have celebrated his sexy and glamorous collections.

ACCESSORY DESIGNER: Stuart Vevers for Mulberry presented by Daphne Guinness

Stuart Vevers is the man behind many a covetable handbag. He currently is design director for Mulberry while still holding the position of accessories designer at Luella. At Mulberry, Stuart has designed a slew of It-bags including the Emmy, Alana, Elgin and the Roxanne, and has a major impact on Mulberry, a quintessentially British brand.


SHOP OF THE YEAR: b Store presented by Dinos Chapman

Since opening in 2000, b Store has become a cult destination for directional fashion, having carefully nurtured relationships with some of London’s most interesting designers. This year, b Store relocated to Savile Row and launched b clothing, the perfect compliment to its already much adored b Footwear range.


MENSWEAR DESIGNER: Kim Jones presented by Tom Hollander

Kim Jones is a Central Saint Martins graduate and has been showing his menswear collections at Paris men’s fashion week since 2004. His very individual take on athletic wear has earned him a cult following.


FASHION CREATOR: Eugene Souleiman presented by Jaime Murray

Eugene Souleiman is one of the most influential people in the fashion business. His truly inspired hairstyles often become trends as relevant as fashion trends themselves.  He is highly sought after by all the top designers, photographers and stylists, as he knows how to interpret their creative vision to the hairstyle.


RED CARPET DESIGNER sponsored by Nicky Clarke: Vivienne Westwood presented by Nicky Clarke & Laura Bailey

Vivienne Westwood is one of Britain’s greatest designers. She is known for her avant-garde and provocative style. Her striking gowns are as popular as ever on the red carpet and beyond, and have recently been seen on Dita von Teese, Lily Cole, Gwyneth Paltrow, Kirsten Dunst and a myriad more.


MODEL OF THE YEAR: Kate Moss presented by Bryan Ferry

Kate Moss is a fashion icon and without a doubt one of the most prolific models in the industry.  She has now been modelling for over fifteen years and remains at the top of her game. She is currently in 14 advertising campaigns and her recent cover credits include Vogue, Pop, V, I.D., Vogue Homme, W and Vanity Fair.


Joan Burstein
CBE presented by Manolo Blahnik

Fashion retailer par excellence Joan Burstein has played a role in launching the careers of many of today’s great fashion designers, including John Galliano, Donna Karan, Calvin Klein and Giorgio Armani. Browns celebrated its 35 year anniversary in 2005 and Mrs B. – as she is known- continues to champion the careers of London’s new designers. 


BFC FASHION ENTERPRISE AWARD supported by Swarovski:
Jonathan Saunders
presented by Nadja Swarovski & Christopher Bailey

Since establishing his signature print-style with his debut collection in 2004, Jonathan Saunders has been growing his fashion business from season to season. He has done this with no outside investors and working with a skeleton staff, wearing many hats as he went from Design Director to Finance Director. The selection panel for the BFC Fashion Enterprise Award selected Jonathan based on his passion, resourcefulness, focus and devotion along with what appeared to be a very clear vision of where he wanted to take his business and how the prize could help him get there.

Categories and nominees were decided by the BFC’s Press Committee, chaired by Alexandra Shulman, editor of Vogue.

The winners were decided by an invited panel of judges. The panel changes each year. This year’s judges were:

Caroline Baker, YOU Magazine
Alison Edmond, Harper’s Bazaar
Cathy Edwards, Dazed & Confused
Bridget Cosgrave, Matches

Dylan Jones, GQ

Kit Li-Perry, Selfridges
Paul Sexton, Koh Samui
Sonnet Stanfill, Fashion Curator, V&A

The recipient of the BFC Fashion Enterprise Award supported by Swarovski was chosen by a separate panel consisting of
Christopher Bailey, Burberry
Joan Burstein, Browns
Hilary Riva, BFC
 Alexandra Shulman, Vogue
Nadja Swarovski, Swarovski



<< back to News