<< back to News

And the Nominees are…


Following the re-launch of the Awards in 2004 with the V&A, the focus of the Awards continues to recognise and acknowledge the strength and creativity of British fashion and the key role it plays in driving fashion forward on an international stage. The Awards will be held at the V&A on Thursday, 2nd November 2006.

The awards categories are designed to reflect the strength of British design and the shortlist of nominees in each of the categories was compiled by the BFC’s Press Committee, chaired by Alexandra Shulman, editor of Vogue. The winners will be decided by an invited panel of judges comprising leading press, buyers and industry figures, who will meet in late October to make their final decision. This year’s judges will be announced shortly.

This year sees the addition of a tenth award, the BFC Fashion Enterprise Award supported by Swarovski, which will not only represent an important recognition for its recipient, but also provide financial help to enable a young fashion business to develop. To qualify, designers must have been in business for 3 years and have shown their collections as a part of the New Generation programme. An advisory board to the BFC will select the short list of designers who will be interviewed by a small selection panel. Based on the interview, in which a designer will be asked to discuss his/her business plans, the committee will select the award recipient. The winner will be announced during the British Fashion Awards.

Hilary Riva, Chief Executive of the BFC commented, “As with previous years, the nominees within all categories are a reflection of the diversity of the creative talent that is born out of Britain. We are thrilled to be able to introduce the BFC Fashion Enterprise Award thanks to the support of our sponsor, Swarovski.”

The event itself will comprise a champagne reception followed by an exclusive dinner in the Museum’s spectacular Raphael Gallery for 400 industry figures including designers, retailers, media owners, models and celebrities and a post-awards party.

The nominees for the 2006 British Fashion Awards are:

DESIGNER OF THE YEAR A leading British designer of couture, ready-to-wear, knitwear or accessories who has directed the shape of fashion in the past year both in the UK and internationally.


Luella Bartley

Giles Deacon

NEW DESIGNER An innovative and directional designer who, in the past year, has emerged as an influential force in British fashion.

Roksanda Ilincic

Sinha Stanic

Marios Schwab

ACCESSORY DESIGNER Including shoes, jewellery, millinery and accessories.

Stuart Vevers for Mulberry

Georgina Goodman

Judy Blame

SHOP A retailer who represents the best in British high street design, is the best department store or is the best independent store of the year.


b Store


MENSWEAR DESIGNER A leading British designer of ready-to-wear and bespoke tailoring who has been instrumental in enhancing British men’s fashion in the past year.

Kim Jones


Siv Stoldal

RED CARPET DESIGNER sponsored by Nicky Clarke A leading British designer of couture or ready-to-wear who is recognised for cocktail or eveningwear that has gained exposure at red carpet events worldwide in the past year.

Vivienne Westwood

Antony Price

John Galliano

FASHION CREATOR A stylist, make-up artist, photographer, art director or producer whose creativity inspires and influences their audience

Kate Phelan

Edward Enninful

Eugene Souleiman  

MODEL A model who has contributed most to the international fashion scene in the year 2005.

Erin O’Connor

Kate Moss

Alek Wek

V&A AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT IN FASHION A leading British fashion industry figure whose work has directed the shape of fashion in both the UK and internationally. To be announced on Thursday, 2nd November 2006.

THE BFC FASHION ENTERPRISE AWARD sponsored by SWAROVSKI A cash sum of £50k awarded to a designer business currently showing in London. This designer must have been in business for a minimum of 3 years and have been part of the New Generation sponsorship scheme in the last 3 years.


Winners to be announced on Thursday, 2nd November 2006




<< back to News